History of World Football Competition

Have you ever asked yourself how the World Football Competitions started? Well, years ago, the Olympics Organisation restricted professional athletes to participate in any of the Football events. Due to this exclusion, there was a great need for a competition where the best players in the world would combine their forces together to represent their nation. Thus, this gave birth to a worldwide Football competition. Jules Rimet, who was inspired by the favourable outcome of the Olympic games, organised the World Football Competition so that the best footballing nations could compete against each other.



1930, this set of four numbers, is a year remembered by the most dedicated football supporters. It was the year in which the first World Football Competition took place. Belgium, Peru, France, USA, Romania, Paraguay, Yugoslavia, Chile, Uruguay, Bolivia, Brazil, Argentina and Mexico were the first 13 nations to participate in this highly awaited world tournament. In Montevideo, Uruguay from the 13th to the 30th of July, these 13 teams gathered together for the very first grand football tournament. 18 Matches were played and 70 goals were scored. The Uruguay team got to lift the most coveted Trophy in the football world by defeating Argentina 4-2.

football 1

From then onwards, every four years, the most acclaimed World Football Competition was held in a different nation. However, due to World War 2, there was a 12-year break. There was no tournament in 1942 and 1946. A hiatus that left football supporters and players hungry for more competitions.

Did you know that the World Football tournament was between 13 teams up until 1978? From this time forward it has increased from 16 teams to 24 teams in 1982, then in 1998, there were 32 teams. This world-wide Football Tournament will increase to 48 teams from 2016 onwards.  More teams, more exceptional players for a high-class competition.

football 3

Fact 1: Brazil is the only nation that has competed in all the World Football Competition final series and remains the most triumphant team with five extraordinary victories. They’ve taken the trophy home in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and finally in 2002.

Fact 2: German striker Miroslav Klose is the sole record goal scorer. In 24 games, he has scored a total of 16 goals during 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014.

Fact 3: Do you know who has scored the most goals in a single World of Football Competition?  Just Fontaine a French football player. He managed to score 13 goals in a single tournament. A round of applause, please!

Fact 4: In 1966 from the 11th to 30th July, the World Football Competition was held in England and guess who won? England of course. And a fun fact would be that the Jules Rimet Trophy that is awarded to the winning team was stolen prior to the 1966 World Football Competition.

football 2

This prestigious football competition is not just about football, it is an event that gathers people together, in peace, for an amazing celebration. Whether it is the stadiums or behind the screen of their TV, supporters make a point to encourage their team with great passion and fervour. The competition is currently held in Russia… start your bets, who will win this year’s most desired Trophy?

Lisa Stolmings / 04 July 2018